No Beauty Spending Challenge

15 Jan

Hello everyone! A blog post for to day on a challenge that I am doing. Essentially what happened was me realizing that I spent a lot (and I mean a lot) of money on beauty products in the past year. So much that when the Sephora VIB Rouge program kicked in I was already a member which is crazy to think that I spent $1000 at Sephora in the past year. Granted prices in Canada are a lot higher than the US but more than $1000 at Sephora. That is insane and it’s not something I can afford again this year (plus the perks aren’t worth it).

So my sister challenged me to not spend anything beauty related (because she knows about the hoards of makeup that I have) for the next three months. If I buy any skincare, makeup, body care, and hair care I have to give my sister $20 on each product spent. That would be a hefty fee to pay for each and every beauty product that crosses into my stash. I have everything that I possibly need AND backups too! Do I need to buy anymore? Not for the next few months that’s for sure.

There are so many beautiful Spring collections and new products coming out during those months but you know what? I think I’ll be okay I promised myself that I would purchase those things once the spending ban is lifted. I think this will be a great challenge for me and hopefully I will save money in the next three months (and pay off my school fees/textbook costs).

IMG_2308

(I’ll turn these bills into more bills!)

So, has anyone else put themselves on a limit or a spending ban in the past or currently? Let me know in the comments.

One Response to “No Beauty Spending Challenge”

  1. ThroughTheLookingGlassAndDownTheRabbitHole January 15, 2014 at 3:14 pm #

    This is a great idea! I’m trying to control my beauty spending too… It’s hard 😦 Ha ha 😀

Leave a Reply

