My Experience with Accutane

19 Jul

Hello everyone! I wanted to do a talking/lots of typing blog post today and today’s topic is Accutane. I was actually put on this in October 2012 and ended the 8 month trial in May 2013. My prescription was a dose of 50mg is based on my weight. Here’s a lovely photo of the pills:

IMG_1278

The reason why I was put on Accutane was that nothing else was working. I took a few other pills that were antibiotics and they worked for a while then just stopped being effective. Even topical treatments weren’t as effective. At the time I had cystic acne and it really just took a toll on my mental well-being that I have all these pimples and it’s the first thing that people will notice instead of myself. Accutane is a retinoid related to Vitamin A and is mainly used to cure cystic acne.

Accutane should be for anyone the last resort as this can be a potentially damaging drug. While on the pills I noticed that I wasn’t able to focus well on my schoolwork, my mind was extremely easy to distract, I felt really down and my body had aches and pains all over. I do not recommend this for anyone because during this I felt like I wasn’t really my sharp self that I usually am.

During this trial my skin did slowly begin to become better even though I didn’t believe in it initially. At the beginning all I noticed was that my skin was extremely dry and that I was really thirsty and my lips and skin kept drying and flaking off. I didn’t really notice an outbreak of new pimples because to me at that time there was a lot of pimples that I didn’t even bother worrying about a new one popping up. For me the challenging things about this was finding a product that worked for my extremely dehydrated skin and I just resorted to smearing Vaseline over my face to keep it hydrated and from flaking. After 5 months my skin looked better and if I got any pimples they were gone in about a few days.

This is what my face looks like now…

IMG_0681

I still have a lot of scars and discoloration on my cheeks and chin but it’s slowly going to get better which makes me extremely excited as I can try different face creams and makeup products as much as I would like. Nowadays, if I do get a pimple it is small and goes away in a few days which is a nice side effect of the drug. Of course, I still am vigilant about my skincare as well as taking care of watching my diet to ensure that I don’t get any really bad cystic acne.

Of course, I am very happy with what my skin looks like now and will continue with my skincare as rated more important than the makeup on my face.

One Response to “My Experience with Accutane”

  1. Opinionated Man July 19, 2013 at 9:05 pm #

    I am glad you had a good experience. I am 32 years old and took this stuff when I was 18 years old… so a long time ago. Maybe it has changed now, but it worked well. The only problem is it GAVE ME CROHNS. Looking back, I honestly don’t know what choice I would have made. On the one hand having achne is aweful, especially in your first year of college… but the stomach issues I now face are not a trade off. Nice article and thanks for sharing. -OM

Leave a Reply

