Review: ELF Matte Lip Color

22 Dec

Hello everyone! This is the last of the ELF review marathon. Whew I apologize for the sheer amount of posts today but hey I’d rather be blogging than working or helping my mom bake.

Description: A lip crayon with a matte finish. Shades are Tea Rose (mauvey pink) and Praline (dark brown based pink).

Review: I didn’t get to take a picture but there is quite a bit of product in the tubes itself. The shades are based on the opposite spectrum. Tea Rose is a cool tone lipstick (which is why it looks awkward on me) and Praline is a warm brown based lip color (those work best with me). The texture is not smooth as expected with matte lipsticks they tend not to be smooth while applied to the lips. With a matte finish it does have a tendency to emphasize dry lips or flaky lips so I recommend you exfoliate and moisturize before putting on this lipstick. The lipstick is very pigmented and packaging is a nice crayon format which makes it easy to apply to the lips and you can line your lips at the same time. It has a twist up design which stores a lot of product. Overall, it is a matte lipstick which acts like a matte lipstick but does have pretty good pigmentation.

Cost: $3USD @ eyeslipsface.com

Would I recommend this product? I find that the shades themselves are not really flattering and matte shades are very hard to pull off due to the texture and finish but I do like the product itself. I don’t know if I would recommend these to others or not so I’ll just leave this section as an ‘buy if you are curious’ or buy if you love matte lipsticks.

Leave a Reply

