Helicoptor Parents

3 May

Ever heard that term? Just basically means over-protective parents and I’m sure lots of people have experienced them. Though I am no expert in this area I definately know that I have a VERY over-protective mom, my dad is also protective but he’s lenient (which is good… hooray!).

I feel like this type of issue has to come out as I am having those types of troubles at home and there is technically no one that I can talk to except the internet.

Either way, my story is that the karate group that I am affiliated with is hosting 5 Japanese guests who are great karate masters and I’m translating for them as I know Japanese. I am told that they are going to the shooting range to shoot guns at targets so I have to go because we don’t want our guests to shoot themselves. I tell my parents and my mom is totally against it mainly because it consists of the fact that I am a girl and that I’m going to go to a shooting range…

Back in the day when my brother started going to a Junior High school I felt like my parents abandoned me just to support my brother. Because of my brother who had to go to a far away high school my parents enrolled me in a new school. Not knowing anyone there, I was scared but my parents said that it would be okay… to be honest it was not okay. I was bullied but I didn’t let anyone know because I felt that if my parents knew they would yell at me for being a weak child and I felt like I had no allies to help me along the way. To forget that people were bullying me I got myself involved in many different things; patrol, office monitor, and the most important was karate.

For me, even though karate was hard the best part was not just doing well in it but knowing that I could leave everything at the door. Nothing could bother me for the two hour long class and because of that class I could totally forget all the bad things that were happening to me.

I basically owe most of my life to karate because it has shaped me into the person I am today by meeting all those wonderful people who helped me along the way. But the fact that my mother does not accept that I should affiliate any further with the club is ridiculous! Because she and my father was so concerned about my brother she forgets me and she does not see that she was NOT a good role model for me. Thus for me karate is very important and to ban me from helping out and contributing to the club that’s like banning me from going on the internet. Utterly impossible.

I’ve grown up a lot since those bullying days and it has made me a stronger person but words will still be able to hurt me. The saying that ‘Stick and stones can break my bones but words will never hurt me’ is utterly untrue. Words hurt and once they are spoken they can never be taken back.

But seriously, does she have a point in being extremely protective of me going to a gun range just to translate for our guests? (I am NOT I repeat NOT touching a gun) If she didn’t care about me back then, why should she care now?

Here’s a link of a website article that I read through to help me after the hour long criticism speech from my mom. (Criticism speeches always make me question myself and makes me feel like dirt… not a fun feeling)

http://www.drrobynsilverman.com/parenting-tips/helicopter-parents-helpful-or-harmful/

One Response to “Helicoptor Parents”

  1. Slamdunk May 3, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

    Good post. I see too many helicopter parents and you are right about the words hurting–sticks and stones… was not accurate.

Leave a Reply

